Adopt a Grizzly Bear

During the past 150 years, grizzly bears in the lower 48 states were reduced to an estimated two percent of their former range because of over hunting and habitat loss. However, fate is turning around for the grizzly. Recently, the Yellowstone population of this awe-inspiring species was removed from the government’s list of threatened and endangered species after years of dedicated efforts by National Wildlife Federation and others. Unfortunately, four other grizzly populations in Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, and the North Cascades in Washington remain listed as threatened. Also known as the brown bear, the grizzly generally is larger and heavier than the black bear. Its name comes from the silver or white tips on its back and shoulder fur. A grizzly bear may live up to 35 years in the wild and a male may weigh more than 1,000 pounds. Please help us protect grizzlies and other imperiled wildlife throughout America. Adopt a grizzly bear today!

Narrow Down By
Start Over
  Sort By:   
Showing 1-3 of 3