Adopt a Walrus

There are three subspecies of the walrus: the Atlantic Walrus (Odobenus rosmarus rosmarus), the Pacific Walrus (Odobenus rosmarus divergens), and Odobenus rosmarus laptevi, found in the Laptev Sea. Walrus are the largest pinnepeds ("finned foot") in the Arctic and Sub-arctic areas of the world. They migrate in the spring and fall, following the availability of their food sources. When ice floes advance and retreat, this is the signal for the walrus to begin its migration. Climate change may affect these movement patterns. Walrus use the 400-700 highly sensitive vibrissae (which look like a long moustache on either side of the mouth) to forage for clams, shrimps, crabs, tube worms, corals, sea cucumbers, and other prey along the murky ocean floor, and can differentiate shapes 3mm thick and 2 mm wide with their vibrissae. Help NWF in its efforts to protect and recover the wild places that sustain wildlife. Adopt a walrus today!

Narrow Down By
Start Over
  Sort By:   
Showing 1-2 of 2


(3 reviews)